Squirrel Picnic

Handmade with Love and Stuff


2 Comments

Year of the Sock: October

This month, Patricia and I challenged members of our Year of the Sock crochet group to crochet socks for Halloween. I put together a roundup of Halloween and fall-inspired sock and slipper patterns to get the ball rolling.  The idea was to use the provided patterns to crochet a pair of Halloween socks, or get inspired by the other patterns and color palettes to design a truly unique pair of socks. I was so thrilled by the socks that people crocheted. Continue reading

Advertisements


4 Comments

How to Assemble Sugar Candy Skull Scarves

Black skull scarf with pink flowers

Black skull scarf with pink flowers

Several years ago I made a few scarves incorporating my Sugar Candy Skull Motif pattern with flower motifs. I ended up with two scarf styles: one pairs black skulls with 3-D red or pink rose motifs, the other pairs white skulls with a colorful, lacy flower pattern.

Over the years, people have often asked me how to make these scarves and finally I think I am able to present a pattern of sorts. If you are interested in making a Sugar Candy Skull Scarf of your own, here I will provide links to the patterns you will need to make the motifs, instructions on how to arrange your motifs, and a video tutorial on how to join these motifs using a simple whip stitch. Continue reading


Let’s Crochet Halloween Socks!

October should be a fun month for sock crochet, and I didn’t want to leave you out of some of the festivities happening in our Year of the Sock Facebook group. To celebrate the season, we proposed to crochet socks inspired by Halloween and autumn. If you’d like to join in, you might choose a Halloween or fall sock pattern or create your own design inspired by the season. To help jump-start your creativity, I put together the mood board below with Halloween color palettes and designs, including a roundup of patterns. Feel free to choose one of the patterns listed here, or you might choose to work a basic sock pattern (or your favorite sock pattern) in Halloween colors, or crochet a pair of funky monster slippers!

halloween-sock-inspiration-roundup

1) Witch Leg Yarn Bomb by Rayna Noel—http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/witch-leg-yarn-bomb
2) Betelgeuse Creepy Skull Legwarmers by Spider Mambo—http://www.ravelry.com/…/library/betelgeuse-creepy-skull-le…
3) Creepy Skull Knee Socks by Spider Mambo—http://www.ravelry.com/patt…/library/creepy-skull-knee-socks
4) Monster Slippers by Lorna Watt—http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/monster-slippers-2
5) Witchy Legwarmers by Stacey Trock—http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/witchy-legwarmers
6) Halloween Spider Baby Sandals by Kittying Ying—http://www.ravelry.com/…/libr…/halloween-spider-baby-sandals
7) Halloween Pumpkins Baby Booties by Knittying Ying—http://www.ravelry.com/…/li…/halloween-pumpkins-baby-booties
8) Candy Corn Slippers by Tia Davis—http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/candy-corn-slippers
9) Candy Corn Legwarmers by Nadia Fuad—http://www.ravelry.com/patte…/library/candy-corn-leg-warmers
10) Corset Socks by Brenda K. B. Anderson —http://www.crochetme.com/crochet-patterns/corset-socks
11) Mardi Gras Carnival Socks by Janet Rehfeldt—http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mardi-gras-carnival
12) Autumn Drops by Rohn Strong—http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/autumn-drops-4

I found this mood board to be a great starting off point for my October socks. After crocheting nine pairs of socks already this year, I think I’m ready to try my hand at designing my very first pair. I hope to use some of the techniques that I’ve really enjoyed from all the socks I’ve crocheted. I’m thinking that this pair will be worked from the toe up, with an extended single crochet stitch for the foot, a short-row heel, and a very special stitch pattern that I recently stumbled upon (and now can’t get out of my head) for the leg. I think I’ll keep it a secret for now, but if you follow me on Pinterest, I bet you could guess which stitch pattern it is (when I get obsessed, there’s no stopping me!). Last night I ordered the yarn for my socks from Knit Picks. I can’t wait to see how these tonal grays work with little bits of bright green and purple popping through.

And I can hardly wait to see what socks you come up with for the month! Will you share a photo of them with me? You can email squirrelpicnic(at)gmail(dot)com or join the Facebook group. We would love to have you!

 

 

 


5 Comments

Hodge and Podge and Eric want to wish you a…

Happy Halloween from Squirrel Picnic

Are you ready for some Halloween fun? This year, I’m going as a T-Rex, and my hubby is going as a very spooky scarecrow. Hodge, with his superhero mask, is Raphael TMNT and Podge is a princess. Eric didn’t have time to put a costume together because he has been too busy in the lab, so he just put on a baseball cap. Bah hum bug. There’s still time to come up with a costume, Eric. Get in the spirit, squirrel friend. Halloween is the best day of the year! I even wore my T-Rex costume to Costco this morning and it was glorious. If I can do it, you can too!


7 Comments

Podge’s Pretty Princess Hat Crochet Pattern

Podge's Princess Hat Pattern by Squirrel PicnicPodge wants to be a pretty princess this year for Halloween. Seeing as her favorite color is pink and she’s a total princess the other 364 days of the year, this comes as little surprise. Podge just loves dressing up!

Podge loves trick or treating too. Every year it’s the same story. At the end of the night she dumps her candy out on the floor and picks out all the pink ones to stash away for herself. She gives the rest to Hodge and I. Her favorite pink candies are Hubba Bubba Bubble Tape, cotton candy Jelly Belly Beans, Bubble Yum, Good n Plenty, strawberry Nerds, watermelon Jolly Ranchers, and strawberry Laffy Taffy to name a few. Did you know you can shop for candy by color? I’ll have to remember that for her next birthday party.

Is your squirrel going trick or treating this year? Now you can dress them up like a princess too with this free pattern!

I hope you enjoy making this costume and I hope your squirrel friend enjoys it too. Continue reading